Nepal is a small, landlocked sovereign country located in the Himalayas, lies in South Asia, bordered to the north by the People’s Republic of China and to the South, East and West by the Republic of India.

Name: Nepal
Area: 147,181 sq km
Population: 20.5 Million (2012)
Government: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
Capital: Kathmandu
Flag: Two red triangles, one above the other with blue fringe. White moon upper triangle, white sun in lower.
People: More than 10o ethnic groups (Kathmandu Newar and Brahmin-Cheetri dominate the cultural Landscape)
Language: Officially Nepali
Religion: Hindu, Buddhist and others, but officially Hindu.
Highest and Lowest Points: 70 m to 8848 m (230 ft to 29,021 ft)
Currency: Nepalese Rupee
Time: Nepalese time is 5 hours and 45 minutes ahead of GMT and 15 minutes ahead of Indian time.
The Portion in Himalaya: Nepal lies wholly in the Himalaya